Mumbai Indians – IPL Records, Stats & History

Mumbai Indians (MI) is the most successful franchise in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). With 5 trophies in their cabinet, they are the franchise that has won the most titles.

The carva of winning an IPL title starts in 2013 when R Sharma was made the captain of the Mumbai Indians franchise. We have seen so many big stars playing for this franchise over the years.

From the god of cricket S Tendulkar, R Sharma, A Rayudu, D Karthik, and SK Yadav to the overseas stars in S Jayasuriya, K Pollard, L Malinga, M Johnson, etc.

So many greats have played for this franchise. Today, we will talk about the history of the Mumbai Indians franchise, stats, trophies, and much more.

Mumbai Indians in total have won 5 trophies in IPL history. First in 2013, then they won their next three titles in the odd years, in 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Breaking the trend, Mumbai Indians defended its title in 2020 and won in the even year as well.

The support the Mumbai Indians franchise has got is immense. Everywhere they play, they have got massive support from the fans.

Mumbai Indians trophy record in the IPL

1st title

MI won its first-ever title in 2013. They beat CSK in a low-scoring encounter in the final.

Batting first in the inning, Mumbai Indians managed to score 148 with the loss of 9 wickets. K Pollard played an outstanding knock of 60 off 32 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes.

Along with A Rayudu, K Pollard stitched a 48-run partnership for the 5th wicket when MI were 52 for 4. The former also played a crucial inning of 37 off 36 balls.

When CSK came out to chase the target, only captain MS Dhoni stood tall with 63 off 45 balls. MI won by 23 runs.

2nd title

MI and CSK again meet in the final of the IPL 2015. And again, Mumbai Indians won the final and got their second IPL title.

After batting first in the inning, Mumbai Indians scored a mammoth total of 202. The 119 runs partnership between L Simmons and R Sharma sets up the tone in the inning. The former scored 68 off 45 balls and the latter scored 50 off just 26 balls.

K Pollard and A Rayudu also played crucial cameos of 36 off 18 and 36 off 24 balls respectively.

CSK only managed to score 161 on the board. Mumbai Indians won the game by 41 runs.

3rd title

Mumbai won their 3rd title by beating Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) in a thrilling low-scoring encounter by just one run. How can we forget that last over by M Johnson?

Mumbai just managed to score 129 on the board. K Pandya’s 47 off 38 balls helps Mumbai Indians to go past 120.

But the bowling unit which consists of L Malinga, M Johnson, K Pandya, J Bumrah, and K Sharma helps the team to defend 130. MI won the game by just one run despite RPS were 71 for 1 at one stage.

4th title

After the 2010 IPL final, Mumbai Indians dominated CSK when it comes to playing in the finals. MI and CSK again lock horns in the 2019 IPL final. And again MI got a success.

They won their 4th title by winning the title by just one run. Again, after the 2017 final.

K Pollard’s 41 off 25 balls helped Mumbai Indians to put on 148 on the board in the first inning. Before that, Q de Kock and R Sharma started off really well with the 45 runs-opening partnership. But they lost the momentum in the inning and were restricted to 148.

Again the bowling unit helps the team to defend the total. J Bumrah took 3 wickets for just 14 runs in his 4 overs.

S Watson ran out of partners in the run chase. He scored 80 off 59 balls with 8 fours and 4 sixes. L Malinga bowled a toe-crushing Yorker on the last ball to S Thakur when CSK needed 2 off 1 ball.

5th title

Mumbai Indians break the trend of winning the titles in odd years only. They beat Delhi Capitals in 2020 IPL final by 5 wickets.

DC scored 156 in the first inning. Thanks to the partnership between S Iyer and R Pant. The former scored 65 off 50 balls and the latter chip in with 56 off 38 balls.

Mumbai chased down the total with ease. R Sharma played a captain’s knock of 68 off 51 balls. There were two 45 runs partnerships for the first two wickets. The first is between R Sharma and Q de Kock. And the other was between R Sharma and SK Yadav.

In the end, I Kishan remains not out on 33 off just 19 balls. Mumbai Indians won the game with 8 balls and 5 wickets in hand.

All the titles won are in the captaincy of R Sharma.

Top 5 hard hitters for Mumbai Indians in the IPL history

(1) H Pandya

All-rounder turned out to be one of the best hitters for Mumbai Indians in IPL history. When MI bought H Pandya in 2015, they wouldn’t expect that he would be their match-winner. But H Pandya has won so many games for the team.

His strike rate for playing MI is 153.91

(2) K Pollard

As we all know, K Pollard is one of the hitters of the cricket ball in the world. His ability to hit the ball makes him an X factor in any team.

His strike rate while playing for MI is 147.

(3) J Buttler

J Buttler has played 24 games and scored 500+ runs with a strike rate of almost 146.

(4) S Jayasuriya

When the IPL was inaugurated, he was one of the pinch hitter for MI. He has played 30 games  and scored 768 runs with th strike rate of 144.36.

(5) H Singh

Strange, but the turbinator H Singh is the 5th batter on this list. He can also hit the ball well. His strike rate in 158 games is 141.34.

Top 5 bowlers for Mumbai Indians in the IPL history

(1) L Malinga

The Yorker king L Malinga is the first bowler in this list. He took 170 wickets in 122 games.

(2) H Singh

Harbhajan Singh is there in the list of bowlers as well. He took 127 wickets in 136 games he played for Mumbai Indians.

(3) J Bumrah

One of the best current pacers, not in India but in the world. J Bumrah took 82 wickets in the 77 games he played till now.

(4) M McClenaghan

New Zealand’s left-arm pacer took 71 wickets in the 56 games he played for the franchise.

(5) K Pollard

The last bowler in this list is K Pollard. He is a handy medium pacer and captains often use him to break the partnership. He is a street-smart bowler who knows how to bowl in a given situation.

K Pollard took 56 wickets in 148 games.

So these are the stats, records, and history of Mumbai Indians. Hope you like it.

What is your favorite moment in the IPL? Comment yours below.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for these types of articles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *