Delhi Capitals: IPL Stats And Records

Delhi Capitals is one of the Indian Premier League franchises based out of the Indian capital of New Delhi. GMR Group and JSW Group jointly own the franchise. The team’s home ground is Arun Jaitley Stadium, situated at the heart of New Delhi. 

In addition to Rishabh Pant as captain, Rohit Ponting is the coach of the team. In 2020, the Delhi Capitals reached their first IPL final. Besides, the franchise has played 216 games until 13 October 2021. They have won 96 games and have lost 114 games with 2 games with No Results. Meanwhile, the win percentage is 44.86%.

In March 2018, GMR sold a 50% stake in the Delhi Daredevils to JSW Sports for ₹550 crores (US$69 million). Meanwhile, in December 2018, the team changed its name from the Delhi Daredevils to the Delhi Capitals. 

Delhi Capitals: History

In the inaugural 2008 IPL season, the Delhi Capitals franchise finished in the fourth position and did not qualify for the Champions League T20. Meanwhile, the 2009 season was the breakthrough season for DC, as they topped the group stage points table. However, they finished in 3rd position and qualified for the Champions League T20.

In the 2010 IPL season, the team finished in 5th position and failed to qualify for the Champions League T20. In the 2011 season, the Sehwag-led DC squad surprisingly finished at the bottom of the table with just 4 wins and 9 losses. 

As the disappointing 2011 season ended, the franchise added more experienced players to the 2012 IPL squad in the form of Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen, Andre Russel, and Ross Taylor. With the additions, the team finished in 3rd position in the point table but they lost both their playoff matches.

However, after a bright 2012 season, the team finished at the bottom of the table in 2013 in 9th position under the captaincy of Sri Lankan legend Mahela Jayawardene. 

That called for a captaincy change again and England star batsman Kevin Pietersen was announced as the new captain of the Delhi Capitals IPL 2014 season. But that move didn’t bring about any change in fortune as DC finished in 8th position in the table.

Another season brought another change in captaincy as South African batsman JP Duminy was allotted the captaincy for the 2015 season. But they met the same fate again and finished in 8th position at the table.

Meanwhile, Zaheer Khan was appointed as the new captain for the 2016 IPL season. However, the team again finished in 6th position at the table. Meanwhile, in the 2017 IPL season, the team still finished in the 6th position in the table. 

Delhi Capitals: Modern History

The 2018 IPL season saw the youngster Rishabh Pant rising the ranks and becoming the Delhi Capitals captain. However, their poor run of form continued as they finished the season in the 8th position in the table.

In addition, they bought Shreyas Iyer in the 2019 IPL season, who was made the captain of the squad, replacing Rishabh Pant. Local lad Shikhar Dhawan also made his comeback to the DC squad. Furthermore, the team bettered their performance as they finished 3rd in the points table.

Unfortunately, due to an injury, Shreyas Iyer was replaced by Rishabh Pant as captain of the 2020 DC IPL squad. In addition, the team reached the finals of the IPL for the first time in their history. However, they eventually lost the finals to Mumbai Indians by 5 wickets.

Rishabh Pant was entrusted with the captaincy in the 2021 IPL season as well. The team stormed through the group stages, only to finish in 3rd position in the tournament. Subsequently, in the 2022 IPL season, the team finished in the 5th position.

Delhi Capitals: Current Squad

Rishabh Pant ©, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Kuldeep Yadav, Ashwin Hebbar, Abhishek Sharma, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, KS Bharat, Mandeep Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya, Lalit Yadav, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Rovman Powell, Pravin Dubey, Lungi Ngidi, Vicky Ostwal, Sarfaraz Khan.

Delhi Capitals Records

Most Runs

12,838Rishabh Pant98972016-2021
22,382Virender Sehwag86852008-2013
32,375Shreyas Iyer87872015-2021
42,066Shikhar Dhawan63632008-2021
51,888David Warner69682009-2022
Last Updated: 16 November 2022

Most Wickets

1110Amit Mishra1031032,6332008-2021
276Kagiso Rabada50501,5602018-2021
351Morne Morkel41401,1892011-2013
447Umesh Yadav51491,3712010-2013
543Anrich Nortje30309162020-2022
Last Updated: 16 November 2022

Delhi Capitals: Top 5 Batsmen and Bowlers

Meanwhile, in this section, we will discuss the top 5 batsmen and bowlers who have played for the Delhi Capitals.

Top 5 Batsmen

1. David Warner

The Australian southpaw started his IPL journey with the DC franchise in 2008, scoring 1435 runs in five IPL seasons with two centuries. Meanwhile, he peaked in the final two seasons for DC before making his big move to SRH as captain.

In addition, with seven successful seasons at SRH as captain, he also lifted his first IPL trophy. However, he made another comeback to DC in the 2022 season, scoring 432 runs in 12 matches at a solid average of 48.00 and a strike rate of 150.52.

2. Virender Sehwag

The destructive Indian opener was announced as the captain of the Delhi franchise for the first two seasons. However, he quit captaincy to focus solely on his batting. Sehwag was part of the Delhi franchise from 2008 to 2013, scoring 2382 runs at an average of 29.77.

3. Gautam Gambhir

One of the most consistent performers in the IPL, Gautam Gambhir was the mainstay for the Delhi franchise before a big move to KKR in the 2011 mega auction as captain. Gambhir scored 1097 runs in three seasons.

4. Shikhar Dhawan

Dhawan is another consistent batsman in the IPL. He has 5784 runs to his name with two hundred and 44 half-centuries. Dhawan made his debut with the Delhi franchise but moved to Mumbai Indians and later to the Hyderabad franchise. He returned to the Delhi Capitals in 2019 staying there for 3 seasons before moving out to Punjab Kings.

5. Rishabh Pant

The explosive young Delhi batter was picked by the DC franchise in the 2016 auctions. With some strong performances with the bat, he was eventually announced as the captain of the squad. To date, he has scored 2838 runs for Delhi Capitals at an average of 34.61.

Top 5 Bowlers

1. Amit Mishra

Mishra has been one of the stalwarts for his Delhi Capitals, his home side. He has played his entire career with DC, picking up 166 wickets in 154 matches at an average of 23.95. 

2. Kagiso Rabada

The young South African pacer played for DC from the 2017 to 2021 IPL season before moving to Punjab Kings in the 2022 auctions. Meanwhile, in his 50 matches for DC, he has picked up 76 wickets at an average of 20.52.

3. Umesh Yadav

The Indian pacer represented the DC franchise from 2010 to the 2013 IPL season, before making his move to KKR. He picked up 47 wickets in 51 matches at an average of 29.17.

4. Morne Morkel

The veteran South African pace bowler has played for DC from the 2011 to 2013 season. Further, he has picked up 51 wickets in 41 matches at an average of 23.31.

5. Zaheer Khan

The Indian bowling legend Zaheer Khan represented DC from the 2015 to 2017 season. In addition, he was also the captain of the team for two seasons, picking up 27 wickets in 30 matches at an average of 29.85.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *