Rajasthan Royals: IPL Team Stats & Records

The Indian Premier League’s franchise cricket side, the Rajasthan Royals (commonly referred to as RR), is based in Jaipur, Rajasthan (IPL). The team is situated at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. It was established in 2008 as one of the original eight IPL franchises.

“Transform Society through Cricket, and Cricket through Innovation” is the motto of the Rajasthan Royals. The group is a well-known international sports brand that follows the principle that obtaining royal status requires work rather than inheritance.

The “Spirit of Royalty” separates Rajasthan Royals from countless other sports franchises worldwide. The team believes in being royal at heart. Let us take a glance at the history of RR.

RR History

RR defeated the Kings XI Punjab by six wickets in their opening match of the 2008 IPL at Jaipur’s Sawai Mansingh Stadium. In a successful run chase, Shane Watson’s perfect 76 off 49 balls earned him the title of man of the match.

The Royals also won in the next six games. When they defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 65 runs, they were the first team to go to the semifinals.

They faced the Chennai Super Kings in the championship game. On June 1, 2008, the Royals won the match by three wickets.

Because of his versatility and ability to help the squad in many ways, Shane Watson was named the tournament’s man of the match.

The Fall in performance

Sohail Tanvir was unable to represent the squad during the 2009 IPL season since the PCB refused to give its approval for Pakistani athletes to compete in the league.

When Australia traveled to the UAE to play Pakistan in an ODI series, Shane Watson was also sidelined for the entire season. The team appeared slightly weaker without these two players than it did the previous year.

Out of the eight participating clubs, Rajasthan Royals placed sixth. The Royals, however, were unable to advance to the semifinals.

The 2010 IPL Season that followed was a poor beginning for RR in the league. At the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, they fell short of the Mumbai Indians by just 4 runs.

They observed numerous setbacks. Therefore, they missed the playoffs for the second consecutive season.

The Tough Times

In 2011, due to the failure to disclose their ownership changes, the Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab were expelled from the league. With the High Court’s assistance, the teams were reassembled.

The Rajasthan Royals’ 8-wicket victory over the Kumar Sangakkara-led Deccan Chargers marked the IPL 2011’s grand opening. Rajasthan was disqualified from the contest since they placed sixth overall out of the 10 teams who participated in it, winning 6 of the 14 games they played and losing the other 10.

Rajasthan Royals only managed to win seven out of their sixteen games during the 2012 IPL Season, the league’s fifth season. In terms of points, this retained them in seventh place.

They defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in the elimination round in 2013, but they were eliminated from the competition after falling to Mumbai Indians in the second qualifier.

Rajasthan Royals qualified for the playoffs in the 2015 IPL after placing fourth in the league stage. They were eliminated from the competition nevertheless after losing to Royal Challengers Bangalore in the eliminator. The team was again banned for 2 years.

The comeback

In the following years, there was a series of changes in captainship. The team performed barely well. In 2020 Steve Smith was awarded the captaincy.

The squad won its first two games of the season, which was a tremendous start. But they were unable to continue their good work. In 2021 Sanju Samson was the new captain.

Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, and Yashasvi Jaiswal were the three players the organization ultimately decided to keep before the major auction in 2022. Rajasthan finished the season as the runner-up thanks to several players’ outstanding performances.

RR Cricket Team Records

Team Performance

YearTotalWinsLossesNo resultTied & wonTied & lostWin %PositionSummary
2016Team was suspended        
2017Team was suspended        
Total182888922148.35One Time Champion

Team wins, losses, and draws

OpponentSpanMatchesWonLostNo ResultTied & wonTied & lostWin %
CSK2008–2015, 2018–202125101500040.00

Top-5 Rajasthan Royals records in the IPL

The top scores of RR in the IPL are bliss to watch. The following section contains the highest record of RR in IPL:

Highest Totals

226/6PBKSSharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah, UAE27 September 2020
223/5CSKM. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, India3 April 2010
220/3SRHArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi, India2 May 2021
217/7DCRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad, India24 April 2008
217/4RCBM. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore, India15 April 2018
217/7PBKSWankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India12 April 2021

Lowest Totals

58RCBNewlands, Cape Town, South Africa18 April 2009
81KKREden Gardens, Kolkata, India17 April 2011
85KKRSharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah, UAE7 October 2021
90/9MISharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah, UAE5 October 2021
92RCBM. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore, India18 March 2010

Individual Records

Most Runs

12,812Sanju Samson1081042013-2022
22,810Ajinkya Rahane100932011-2019
32,372Shane Watson78762008-2015
42,159Jos Buttler56552018-2022
51,276Rahul Dravid46452011-2013

Highest individual score

1124Jos ButtlerSRHArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi, India2 May 2021
2119Sanju SamsonPBKSWankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India12 April 2021
3116Jos ButtlerDCWankhede Stadium, Mumbai, India22 April 2022
4107*Ben StokesMISheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, UAE25 October 2020
5105*Ajinkya RahaneDDSawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur, India22 April 2019

Highest strike rates

RankStrike ratePlayerRunsBalls FacedPeriod
1161.24Yusuf Pathan1,0116272008-2010
2150.52Jos Buttler1,5761,0472018-2022
3146.92James Faulkner3822602013-2015
4144.79Michael Lumb2781922010-2010
5141.27Shane Watson237216792008-2013

Most Centuries

15Jos Buttler572,3042018-2022
22Shane Watson762,3722008-2015
22Ajinkya Rahane932,8102011-2015
22Sanju Samson1062,8492018-2022
31Ben Stokes316042018-2021
31Yusuf Pathan421,0112008-2010

RR Current Squad

The current squad of RR comprises the following players:

  • Devdutt Padikkal
  • Karun Nair
  • Rassie Van Der Dussen
  • Riyan Parag
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • James Neesham
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Shubham Garhwal
  • Dhruv Jurel
  • Jos Buttler
  • Sanju Samson
  • Anunay Singh
  • Corbin Bosch
  • KC Cariappa
  • Kuldeep Sen
  • Kuldip Yadav
  • Navdeep Saini
  • Obed McCoy
  • Prasidh Krishna
  • Tejas Baroka
  • Trent Boult
  • Yuzvendra Chahal

By far the journey of RR has been adventurous and tough. The coming performance of the team always awaits excitement and thrill. Let us see what the team has to offer in the future in IPL 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *