Indian Premier League (IPL) Winner List

Indian Premier League (IPL) Winner List since 2008 to 2022

IPL Winner List: Ipl is short for Indian Premier League and it is a Twenty-20 cricket format tournament. The league was founded in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India and the very first edition of Ipl was played in 2008. The start of ipl got quite a response from the viewers as a new idea of cricket tournament where the overall sole motive was to make it more entertaining. Players from all over the world joined this league and even the uprising players of the country get the chance to come forward.

IPL Winners from 2008-2022

The total number of Ipl editions played till date are fifteen and below is the year wise winning IPL list.


In the IPL 2022, the number of ipl teams was ten and the Ipl winner was Gujrat Titans and this very same ipl team played their first match of the Indian Premier League in the year 2021.


The ipl winner of the 2021 edition was Chennai Super Kings and among the list of all teams, this Ipl team has impressed the viewers a lot. The captaincy was remarkable and it helped the CSK to get maximum Ipl titles.


The Ipl date for the finals of 2020 was 10th of november. The Ipl team that won this year was Chennai Super Kings and this is the very same team that won the title at the start of Ipl.


This is the eleventh edition of Indian Premier League. The ipl winner in the year 2019 was Kolkata Knight Riders. The final match was against Chennai Super Kings.


Once again in the ipl 2018, the trophy was lifted by Chennai Super Kings. The Venue was Mumbai. Ipl Date for the final was 27 May, 2018. It was a day/night match.


Here comes the ipl winner of 2017, which was Mumbai Indians. And the other ipl team in the finals was Rising Pune Supergiants.


This edition was one of the most scoring ones in which Sunrisers Hyderabad won the finals. Bangalore was the venue for the ipl final in 2016.


Ipl winner in the year 2015 was Mumbai Indians and the final was against the Chennai super kings. Total number of Ipl team was nine.


Kolkata Knight Riders played against Kings XI Punjab and won and also this was seventh Indian Premier League on Ipl list.


This was the first Ipl title for Mumbai Indians in which the total number of teams played this season were nine and the final match took place in Kolkata.


Kolkata Knight Riders surpassed all ipl team in the Indian Premier league of 2012. It was the fifth Ipl season in the Ipl list.


This year’s Ipl final was between Virat Kohli and Mahendra Singh Dhoni and the final match ipl date was 28 May, 2011. It took place in the home ground of CSK and Ipl winner of 2011 was Chennai Super Kings itself.


In the third season of Ipl, Chennai Super Kings got their first ipl winner title in which the opponent in the final was Mumbai Indians and even the match took place in Mumbai itself.


During the ipl season of 2009, there were eight teams in total and the Ipl date was in the months of April and May. The Deccan Chargers were the winner and got their first and only ipl winner title.


This was a very special year as this was the debut year of Ipl and Rajasthan Royals defeated Chennai Super Kings in the final and got the first ipl winner title.

Upcoming IPL

Ipl 2023 is supposed to be ipl season sixteen and it will involve both home and away format. The ipl 2023 is going to start at the end of March, 2023.


Q1.  Which IPL Team won the most IPL titles?

Ans. Chennai Super Kings won four Ipl titles so far which are the highest among all ipl teams.

Q2.  Which cricketer has scored most runs in the IPL?

Ans. Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs in the IPL as he has scored 6411 runs till date in Indian Premier League and he is followed by Shikhar Dhawan with 6086 runs. Let’s see what happens in ipl 2023.

Q3.  Who grabbed the title of Ipl Winner in the year 2022?

Ans. The ipl winner in 2022 was Gujrat Titans and they defeated Rajasthan Royals.

Q4.  Which batsman hit the most sixes in the ipl?

Ans. Yes, you guys guessed it right. It’s one and only the hitting machine Chris Gayle and he did hit 357 sixes in the all ipl seasons combined. You will be surprised to know that AB de Villiers is on the second number but with 251 sixes.

Q5.  Which batsman hit the most fours in all the seasons of Ipl?

Ans. The “Gabbar” of the Indian Cricket Team, hit 684 fours and happen to top the tally and the second place is occupied by Virat Kohli as his total number of fours are 557.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *