List Of Winners Of Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL)

Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) is one of the best platforms for young cricketers in Tamil Nadu. The state has given so many great cricketers to India over the years. Players like Dinesh Karthik, Murli Vijay, R Ashwin, etc came from this state. Today, we will see all the winners of the TNPL league over the years and also see some of the stats of this tournament.

List of Tamil Nadu Premier League title winners

(1) Tuti Patriots, TNPL 2016

The first season of the Tamil Nadu Premier League was played in 2016. Tuti Patriots won that tournament by beating Chepauk Super Gillies in the final.

Openers K Gandhi and A Mukund added 132 runs for the first wicket. Later, Dinesh Karthik also played a knock of 55 off 26 balls. Tuti Patriots scored a massive total of 215 in the first inning.

Chepauk Super Gillies didn’t even come close to the target. They got bowled out for 93 in 18.5 overs. M Ganesh Moorthi took 4 wickets in the 2nd inning.

N Jagadeesan also becomes the Player of the Tournament in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2016.

(2) Chepauk Super Gillies, TNPL 2017

Chepauk Super Gillies took their revenge the next year and beat Tuti Patriots in TNPL 2017 final. Tuti Patriots finished as the table toppers in the league stages.

Tuti Patriots managed to score 143 on the board in the first inning. Abhinav Mukund was the lone warrior for the team. He scored 41 off 38 balls.

Chepauk openers started slowly and added 46 runs. Gopinath scored a valuable 50 off 38 balls. And the cameos from R Sathish and S Saravanan also help the team to get over the line.

Washington Sundar also becomes the Player of the Tournament in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2017.

(3) Madurai Super Giants, TNPL 2018

Madurai Super Giants won their first-ever title in 2018. They defeated Dindigul Dragons in the final by 7 wickets.

Madurai Super Giants bowlers did the job for them and restricted Dindigul Dragons to 117. Only N Jagadeesan scored 51 in the first inning. Abhishek Tanwar, Lokesh Raj, and Varun Chakravarthy took 4, 3, and 2 wickets respectively.

When Madurai came out to chase the target, they lost 3 wickets in the very first over to M Silambarasan. But that was the only moment of a comeback for Dindigul.

Wicketkeeper Arun Karthik and S Chandran steadied the ship and got the team over the line. They added an unbeaten 117 runs after that first over burst. A Karthik remains not out on 75 while Chandran remains not out on 38.

Arun Karthik also becomes the Player of the Tournament in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2018.

(4) Chepauk Super Gillies, TNPL 2019

Dindigul Dragons again fell short in the final and their dream of winning the TNPL title remains. Although, they restricted CSG to 126 in the first inning. Sasidev was the highest scorer in the first inning with 44.

But Dindigul never got the momentum in a run chase. They fell 12 runs short of CSG’s target. Only Sumant Jain shows some fight for Dindigul with 46.

G Periyaswamy took 5 wickets in the 2nd inning. He also becomes the Player of the Tournament in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2019.

(5) Chepauk Super Gillies, TNPL 2021

After a gap of one year, TNPL came back and Chepauk Super Gillies again won the title by beating Trichy Warriors in the close final by 8 runs.

With the help of N Jagadeesan, CSG managed to score 183 on the board. In a close encounter, CSG restricts Trichy Warriors to 175. P Saravana Kumar fight for the team and played an outstanding cameo of 45 off just 25 balls. But they fell 8 runs short of CSG’s target. CSG won their 3rd title in TNPL 2021.

N Jagadeesan was the man of the match in the final for his 90 off 58 balls.

(6) Chepauk Super Gillies and Lyca Kovai Kings declared joint-winners, TNPL 2022

Lyca Kovai Kings managed to score 138 in a stipulated 17 overs due to rain. When CSG came out to chase a target, only 4 overs were possible and they were 14 for 2.

After that, rain had the last laugh and the game washed out. CSG and LKK were declared as joint winners. It was CSG’s 4th and LKK’s 1st title in Tamil Nadu Premier League.

So these are all the winners of Tamil Nadu Premier League. Now, let’s see who is the highest run scorer and wicket-taker in the tournament’s history.

Most runs

N Jagadeesan (1240 runs)

Most wickets

R Sai Kishore (85 wickets)


So these are the winners of all TNPL seasons. Chepauk Super Gillies is the most successful team in TNPL’s history now with 4 titles. Now, the 7th edition of Tamil Nadu Premier League will commence on July 12. The final of TNPL 2023 will be played on July 12.

What do you think? Who will win this year’s TNPL title? Comment your predictions below.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest sports-related updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *