Tata WPL 2023: A Complete List Of Award Winners

With five franchises participating, we witnessed fierce competition among all teams, with the top team directly qualifying for the WPL finals, while the second and third-placed teams competed in open qualifiers.

The Mumbai Indians Womens Team won the first edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 by defeating Delhi Capitals by seven wickets to win the title.

WPL 2023: Full List Of Award Winners

Champions: Mumbai Indians

Runners-up: Delhi Capitals

Tata WPL 2023 Orange Cap winner (Most Runs): Meg Lanning – 345 runs | Delhi Capitals

Tata WPL 2023 Purple Cap winner (Most Wickets): Hayley Matthews – 16 wickets | Mumbai Indians

Most Valuable Player: Hayley Matthews – 284 Points | Mumbai Indians

Best Catch of the Season: Harmanpreet Kaur, Mumbai Indians – against UP Warriorz ( Devika Vaidya).

Tata WPL 2023 FairPlay Award: Mumbai Indians & Delhi Capitals (Shared).

Emerging Player of the Season (WPL): Yastika Bhatia – 214 runs, 6 catches & 7 stumpings | Mumbai Indians

WPL 2023 Highest Run Scorer: Leaderboard

1Meghann Lanning (DCW)993457249.28139.1102506
2Nat Sciver-Brunt (MIW)101033272*66.40140.0803476
3Tahlia McGrath (UPW)9830290*50.33158.1104467
4Harmanpreet Kaur (MIW)1092816540.14135.0903443
5Hayley Matthews (MIW)101027177*30.11126.04013310
6Sophie Devine (RCBW)882669933.25172.72023213
7Alyssa Healy (UPW)9925396*31.62141.3402413
8Ellyse Perry (RCBW)8825367*42.16123.4102287
9Shafali Verma (DCW)992528431.50185.29023213
10Grace Harris (UPW)652307257.50165.4602299

Tata WPL 2023 Highest Wicket Taker: Leaderboard

1Hayley Matthews (MIW)10342202165.9440
2Sophie Ecclestone (UPW)935.30235166.6120
3Amelia Kerr (MIW)103241211156.4510
4Issy Wong (MIW)1032.30210156.4630
5Saika Ishaque (MIW)1034.52244157.0030
6Kim Garth (GGW)7250193117.7201
7Shikha Pandey (DCW)9320211106.5920
8Natalie Sciver-Brunt (MIW)10320228107.1210
9Ashleigh Gardner (GGW)827.40255109.2120
10Marizanne Kapp936220695.7201

Tata WPL 2023 Most Valuable Player: Leaderboard

PosNamePTSMATWKTSDOTS4S6SCatchesRun OutsStumping
1Hayley Matthews2841016983310500
2Natalie Sciver-Brunt272.5101089476400
3Marizanne Kapp218.59912118600
4Amelia Kerr213.5101596201410
5Issy Wong194101510643600

WPL 2023 Fairplay Points

1Mumbai Indians910.2292
2Delhi Capitals81080
3Royal Challengers Bangalore81080
4Gujarat Giants89.6377
5UP Warriorz99.3384

WPL 2023: Most Expensive Players

The auction of the very first season of Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 saw Indian Nationals women’s batter Smriti Mandhana as the most expensive player.

Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) engaged in a bidding war during her auction. Smriti Mandhana was listed at a base price of $50 lakh. Mumbai and Bangalore tussled until the value rose to 3 crore before things settled down. After two more rounds of bidding, Mallika Sagar finally closed the auction, with RCB leading at ₹3.40 crore.

PlayerTeamAuction Price
Smriti MandhanaRoyal Challengers BangaloreINR 3.40 cr
Natalie SciverMumbai IndiansINR 3.20 cr
Ashleigh GardnerGujarat GiantsINR 3.20 cr
Deepti SharmaUP WarriorzINR 2.60 cr
Jemimah RodriguesDelhi CapitalsINR 2.20 cr
Beth MooneyGujarat GiantsINR 2.00 cr
Shafali VermaDelhi CapitalsINR 2.00 cr
Pooja VastrakarMumbai IndiansINR 1.90 cr
Richa GhoshRoyal Challengers BangaloreINR 1.90 cr
Harmanpreet KaurMumbai IndiansINR 1.80 cr

Tata WPL 2024 Latest News

The next edition of WP 2024 will be in home and away format. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided on the Home & Away format considering the importance of building a fan base and grand success on the very 1st edition of the WPL.

WPL Latest News:

  • Home & Away format is confirmed.
  • Women’s Premier League 2024 is set to begin in February.
  • No more than 5 teams for the next three WPL seasons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *