Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is one of the most successful franchises in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). And the fan following of the franchise is immense not only in India but all around the world.

In the past 13 years of IPL, we have seen so many big games won by the CSK and so many great players played in the franchise. From Captain MS Dhoni, R Jadeja, S Raina, M Hussey, R Ashwin to D Bollinger, A Morkel, etc. We have seen so many greats play the game for the CSK franchise.

People love to watch CSK playing and want them to win games and tournaments as well. Today, we will talk about the history of CSK, its records, stats, trophies, etc.

CSK (Chennai Super Kings) trophies record

Chennai Super Kings has won a total of 4 titles in the history of IPL. They won their first title in 2010 by beating Mumbai Indians (MI) in the final by 22 runs.

1st title

In the first inning, popularly known as Mr. IPL, S Raina scored 57 off 35 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes. CSK scored 168 for 5 after the first inning.

MI fell short of a target by 22 runs. S Tendulkar was the highest run scorer with 48 off 45 balls with 7 fours. S Jakati took 2 wickets in the inning.

2nd title

In 2011, next year, CSK defended their title by winning the IPL trophy once again. They beat Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 58 runs.

CSK batted first and the openers chipped in with a 159 runs partnership. M Hussey scored 63 off 45 balls and M Vijay scored 95 off 52 balls. CSK scored 205 in the inning.

RCB crumble in a run chase and only managed to score 147. S Tiwary was the highest scorer with 42 off 34 balls.

3rd title

In 2018, they came back again to the IPL after a ban of two years. And they showed why they are one of the best franchises in the IPL. Everyone thinks that it’s a daddy’s army. But with age comes experience as well.

They beat Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets while chasing 179. CSK lost Faf du Plessis early in the inning. But then S Watson, who struggled to open his account on the first 10 balls, went hard on the SRH bowlers.

S Watson scored a match-winning hundred and S Raina made 117 runs stand for the second wicket.

4th title

Their 4th title came in 2021. CSK batted first and the openers, Faf du Plessis and R Gaikwad put on 61 runs for the first wicket. The former made 86 outstanding runs and was adjudged man of the match. M Ali and R Uthappa played valuable cameos as well. CSK scored 192 in the inning.

The bowlers came back stronger after the KKR openers put on 91 runs for the first wicket. They restricted KKR to 165. CSK won by 27 runs. 

All the titles won are in the captaincy of MS Dhoni. They won the title in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021.

Top 5 CSK batters with the highest strike rate

(1) S Dube

Strange, but S Dube, the Indian all-rounder is the first in the list of highest strike rates. As we haven’t set any criteria, there is no match limit for the player to see who has a better strike rate.

S Dube is one of the best hard hitters in Indian cricket and he has played 11 games for CSK. In those games, he scored 289 runs with a strike rate of 156.21. His best figure for CSK is 95 not out.

(2) D Conway

A New Zealander who only played 7 games and is second on the list. He joined the CSK franchise last year only. And only played 7 games.

The left-hander has scored 272 runs with an average of 42. His strike rate is 145.66.

(3) A Morkel

The South African used to be one of the best all-rounders in world cricket at one stage. A Morkel was an integral part of the CSK franchise from 2008 to 2013.

He has played 78 games for CSK and scored 827 runs with an average of 23. His strike rate was 144.83 and he is the third on this list.

(4) S Curran

The Englishmen already had an impact in the IPL ever since he joined the franchise. He played 23 games for CSK in 2020 and 2021. And in the 15 innings, he scored 242 runs with an average of 22. His strike rate was 142.35. He has won a few games for the franchise with both bat and ball.

(5) M Ali

Another left-handed Englishmen is on the list. M Ali has played 25 games and scored 601 runs with an average of 25. His strike rate is 137.52 with the highest score of 93.

Top 5 wicket takers for CSK in the history of IPL

(1) DJ Bravo

DJ Bravo is one of the best T20 bowlers in world cricket across all the leagues and for the West Indies. His ability to take wickets at crucial times makes him so valuable for any team.

He bowled those slower balls that dip and are hard to hit. Generally, he bowled in the death overs and made the batter’s life difficult.

In 89 matches, he took 104 wickets and is the first in this list.

(2) R Ashwin

Ashwin’s variation in bowling makes him a valuable asset to the team. He has so many variations in his armory and the captain looked at him when the team needs to break the partnership.

Generally, he bowls in the middle part of the inning and restricts the opposition to run through the game.

In 97 matches, he took 90 wickets for CSK.

(3) R Jadeja

R Ashwin’s bowling partner for the franchise and in the Indian team for a long time, R Jadeja is one of the best all-rounders in the world.

Not only with the ball, but he has also played so many match-winning innings for CSK. In 102 matches, he took 81 wickets and is the third bowler on the list.

(4) A Morkel

The fast-bowling all-rounder has played 78 games for CSK from 2008 to 2013. He took 76 wickets in those games and help the team to win many games.

(5) M Sharma

He used to be an Indian player at the time of 2015. But an injury and his own performances make his career cut short. He has played 48 games and took 58 wickets in those games. His ability to bowl those back-of-the-hand slower balls makes the batter’s life hard and it was difficult to pick for them.

Who is the highest run scorer for CSK in IPL history?

Suresh Raina is the highest run scorer for CSK with 4687 runs.

So these are a few stats about the franchise. And the history of CSK. Hope you liked the article. What is your favorite memory of CSK in the IPL? Comment your favorite moment below.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for these types of articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *