A Look Back At Womens Premier League 2023

The very first edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL 2023) was a massive hit. People enjoyed the quality of women’s cricket. It is a great initiative by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to promote women’s cricket. There is plenty of opportunity for women cricketers to show their talent during the tournament.

Womens Premier League Update

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has provided a major update on the next season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024.

  • The next edition of Womens Premier League 2024 is set to take place in February.
  • BCCI is looking for a bigger window in Womens Premier League (WPL).
  • From WPL 2024, the home and away format is confirmed.

A Look Back in WPL 2023

Having reached the milestone of its very first season, the WPL 2023 has gone above and beyond all expectations. The Mumbai Indians Women’s team won the WPL 2023 finals. Mumbai Indian defeated Delhi Capitals Women’s Team in the final with 7 wickets. Harmanpreet Kaur, captain of the Mumbai Indian Women’s Team and also a captain of the Indian National Womens Team, lifted the WPL 2023 trophy.

WPL 2023 Creates Viewership Record

WPL 2023 final clash between Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals witnessed more than 10 million viewers. It is a history for any women’s sporting event.

Womens Premier League, WPL 2023 has taken the world by storm. With that, the first edition of Tata WPL on JioCinema delivers the highest viewership. WPL 2023 breaks all the past viewership records for any global women’s sporting event.

WPL 2023: Top 5 Moments

1. Issy Wong’s Hat-trick

On the 1st edition of the Women’s Premier League, Issy Wong took the only hat-trick in WPL 2023 season; a fabulous speel against the UP Warriorz in the Eliminator round.

Mumbai Indians took on UP Warriorz in the crucial game. Harmanpreet Kaur’s side Mumbai Indians batted first and managed to make a good score of 182 runs.

As Warriorz came to bat, they were all packed for just 110 runs in 17.4 overs. Issy Wong was the key to the Mumbai Indian’s victory. Issy Wong took the very first hat trick of the WPL tournament. Wong dismissed Kiran Navgire, Sophie Ecclestone, and Simran Shaikh. Wong only conceded 15 runs with four-wicket to her name.

2. Sophie Devine’s 99

Sophie Devine hit a spectacular 99 runs off 36 balls in the Women’s Premier League 2023, 16th match vs Gujarat Giants. Arguably one of the best knocks of the tournament.

Gujarat Giants with the batting first, made a good run score of 188 runs. A good partnership between Laura Wolvaardt and Ashleigh Gardner made a fighting total run score of 188 runs in 20 overs.

As Royal Challengers Bangalore came into bat, openers Sophie Devine and Smriti Mandana put on 125 of 56 balls. Sophie Devine played the best knocks in the WPL tournament. Devine made the 99 runs in just 36 balls to drive her side to a much-needed victory.

3. Marizanne Kapp’s spell against Gujarat Giants

For Delhi Capitals against Gujarat Giants, Marizanne Kapp picked up a five-wicket haul. Another magnificent spell and the bowling attack in the women’s premier league.

Gujarat Giants won the toss and choose to bat first. With the ruthless bowling attack of Delhi Capitals, they dominated the Gujarat Giants players. Gujarat Giants made only 105 runs in 20 overs.

Shikha took 3 wickets and Radha took 1 wicket to disrupt Gujarat Giant’s plan. But it was the spell of Marizanne Kapp that led to Gujarat Giants collapsing. Marizanne Kapp took a Fifer and conceded only 15 runs, as Delhi Capitals won the game by 10 wickets.

4. Tara Norris’ fifer

Delhi Capitals Womens Team set up a big target of 224 runs for Royal Challengers Bangalore Womens Team. With the fabulous knock of Shafali Verma, Meg Lanning & Marizanne Kapp, Delhi Capitals managed to make a total of 224 runs and made difficulty their opponents in the run chase. In the 2nd innings, as the Royal Challengers Bangalore came in to bat, the star-studded side looked to register their first victory of the season. But Tara Noris had other plans in mind.

The American Pacer, Tara Norris was key for the Delhi Capitals. She bowled a magnificent spell to hinder the plans of Royal Challengers Bangalore. Tara Norris took the first fifer of the tournament. And also conceded only 29 runs in 4 overs.

5. Grace Harris’ masterclass against Gujarat Giants

The third match between the UP Warriors Women’s Team and Gujarat Giants Womens Team is undoubtedly one of the best moments from the Womens Premier League. Gujarat Giants batted first, they were looking to register their first win of the WPL tournament. And they made a decent score of 169 runs.

In the second innings, both openers for UP Warriorz were sent back to the pavilion quite early. Gujarat Giants started really well in the second innings. UP Warriorz Kiran Navgire fought back and scored 53 runs to give some hope to the team. When Tahlia McGrath and Deepti Sharma failed to make runs, things went from bad to worse.

UP Warriorz seemed lost, then Grace Harris came into bat and played a knock very beautifully. Australian all-rounder, Grace Harris scored 59 runs in 26 balls to push her struggling side to an emphatic victory.

WPL 2023: Most Valuable Player

A player’s Most Valuable Player is ranked according to a special rating system, which rewards you for each four, six, wicket, dot ball, catch, run out, and stumping.

In the 1st edition of Womens Premier League, Mumbai Indians Women Teams star all-rounder Hayley Matthews won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award.

Hayley Matthews leads the race with 284 points. Natalie Sciver Brunt was just behind Matthews with 272.5 points.

WPL 2023 Most Valuable Player: Leaderboard

1Hayley matthews2841016983310500
2Natalie Sciver-Brunt272.5101089476400
3Marizanne Kapp218.59912118600
4Amelia Kerr213.5101596201410
5Issy Wong194101510643600

WPL 2023 Fairplay Award

TATA WPL 2023, Fairplay award was won by MUMBAI INDIANS & DELHI CAPITALS. Both finalists shared this WPL 2023 Fairplay award.

WPL 2023: Full list of award winners

Champions: Mumbai Indians

Runners-up: Delhi Capitals

WPL 2023 Orange Cap winner (Most Runs): Meg Lanning – 345 runs | Delhi Capitals

WPL 2023 Purple Cap winner (Most Wickets): Hayley Matthews – 16 wickets | Mumbai Indians

Most Valuable Player: Hayley Matthews – 284 Points | Mumbai Indians

Best Catch of the Season: Harmanpreet Kaur, Mumbai Indians – against UP Warriorz.

WPL 2023 FairPlay Award: Mumbai Indians & Delhi Capitals (Shared).

Emerging Player of the Season (WPL): Yastika Bhatia – 214 runs, 6 catches & 7 stumpings | Mumbai Indians

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *