Lanka Premier League: Looking Back At LPL 2022

A Look Back at LPL 2022: Awards, Most Runs, Wickets, & much more

Lanka Premier League (LPL) has been a great platform for youngsters in Sri Lanka. They got the opportunity to play with some of the foreign players as well, which helps the youngsters to learn and get exposure.

Now, the LPL 2023 is to commence from tomorrow July 30 with Jaffna Kings vs Colombo Strikers locking horns in the tournament opener. With LPL around the corner, we will have a look at LPL 2022. We will see the points table of LPL 2022, the highest run scorers and wicket takers, winners, and much more. So let’s start.

Lanka Premier League 2022 Points Table

Kandy Falcons finished at the top

W Hasaranga’s led side only lost one game in the round-robin stage. They won 7 games out of 8 and had a net run rate (NRR) of +1.884. They lost the only game against Galle Gladiators by 12 runs.

Kandy lost both the Qualifiers

It’s very rare that a team finishing at the top loses two back-to-back playoffs game. They lost the first qualifier against Jaffna Kings by 24 runs. And then lost the 2nd qualifier against Colombo Strikers by 6 wickets.

Jaffna Kings’ 3rd consecutive title

Jaffna finished 2nd in the points table with 6 wins. They won the first qualifier against Kandy and then went on to win the final by 2 wickets against Colombo Strikers. Jaffna chase down a target of 164 with 4 balls left. Avishka Fernando’s 50 and S Samarawickrama’s 44 helps the team to get over the line. R Gurbaz also played a quick cameo of 36 off 18 balls at the top.

Colombo in the final of LPL 2022

With 3 wins, Colombo Strikers finished at No. 3 in the points table. They won the eliminator against Galle Gladiators by 7 wickets and then qualifier 2 against Kandy by 6 wickets.

They failed to defend a total of 164 in the final against Jaffna.

Galle somehow managed to be in the playoffs

With only 5 teams competing in LPL, it is relatively easy for teams to reach in the top 4. Galle has won only 2 games out of 8 in the round-robin but still managed to reach the playoffs. Dambulla Aura also won 2 games but Galle’s NRR (-0.936) was better than Dambulla’s (-1.198).

Most Runs in LPL 2022

Avishka Fernando, with 339 runs in 10 games becomes the highest run scorer in LPL 2022. He averages 37.67 and has a strike rate of 124.63 in the tournament.

Also, S Samarawickrama was the 2nd highest run scorer with 294 runs in 9 games. Dinesh Chandimal was the 3rd on the list with 287 runs in 11 games.

Most Wickets in LPL 2022

Although Carlos Brathwaite is an all-rounder, we saw him in the role of a big hitter more than his bowling. But he becomes the highest wicket-taker in LPL 2022 with 18 wickets in 8 games. He averages 9.89 in bowling with 2 4-fers in the tournament.

Other than Brathwaite, Nuwan Thushara was the 2nd highest wicket-taker with 14 wickets in 9 games. Kasun Rajitha becomes the 3rd highest wicket-taker with 13 wickets in 8 games.

3rd consecutive title for Jaffna Kings

Jaffna Kings (earlier known as Jaffna Stallions) becomes the Lanka Premier League champions for the 3rd consecutive time in 2022. After having already won the title in 2020 and 2021, they won the title for the 3rd time as well.

Jaffna Kings beat Colombo Strikers in a close encounter in the final by 2 wickets. Avishka Fernando becomes the man of the match in the final.

Other Awards

  • Sadeera Samarawickrama becomes the player of the tournament for his outstanding performance with the bat.
  • Vijayakanth Viyaskanthwins the Emerging Player of the Year.
  • R Gurbaz wins the Innovative Player of the Tournament award. Along with this, he also wins the cheque for the most sixes in LPL 2022.

T Perera expresses his happiness after winning the title

Jaffna Kings captain T Perera expresses his happiness in the post-match presentation after the team won the title for the 3rd time.

He said – “No words to express, I’m really happy. We are not a team, we are like a family. That is the secret to our success. I always tell my boys to be like a family. I have to thank my owner, he gave me the power to select this team. Also want to thank this support staff. Three in a row, so we have done pretty well, this year I was pretty confident we would lift the trophy.”


So these are the relive moments in LPL 2022. The 4th edition is just a few days away to start. Fans are waiting for it to start. What do you think? Who will be the winner of LPL 2022? Comment down your predictions below.

Thank you for reading the article. We hope you like it. Keep following us for the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *