IPL 2023 League Stages Stats Review

The league stages of the IPL 2023 have ended with four deserving teams; Gujarat Titans (GT), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), and Mumbai Indians (MI) advanced to the playoffs. We have seen so many amazing performances from the teams and their players with both bat and ball. And today, we will talk about the stats and records made in the Indian Premier League 2023.

There are so many records broken this year in IPL 2023. And till now (70 games), there are a few players who made their opportunity count and made a huge impact on their respective teams. Also, records are breaking every year and IPL 2023 will be known for those broken records. Until again the new season comes and new records will be made. Let’s see the records and stats of IPL 2023.

Orange Cap Holder

RCB captain Faf du Plessis has the orange cap till now. He has scored 730 runs with an average of 56.15 and a strike rate of 153.68. Faf has scored 8 fifties in the tournament with 84 being the highest score.

Shubman Gill is the 2nd highest run scorer with 680 runs with an average of 56.67 and a strike rate of 152.47. He also scored two hundred in the last two games as well.

The GT opener might overtake Faf du Plessis because he will at least get two games. Either GT won the first qualifier or loses, he will get two innings. Shubman might get three innings as well if GT lost the first qualifier and win the 2nd one.

Purple Cap Holder in IPL 2023 till now

Gujarat Titans bowlers topped this list with 24 wickets each. M Shami and Rashid Khan have picked up 24 wickets each. The former has a better average than the latter. That’s why he is at the top of the list.

Both will look to increase their wickets tally, which will eventually help GT. Piyush Chawla is the only one in the top 5 who can surpass them if MI does well in the playoffs.

Let us now look at the records made in IPL 2023

Virat Kohli achieved some new milestones

The former Indian captain becomes the first player who scored 7 centuries in IPL history. Before that, for many years, this record is with his former RCB teammate, Chris Gayle.

Virat Kohli also becomes the first player to score 7000+ runs in the IPL. Other than Virat, Shikhar Dhawan is the 2nd in the list of most runs in the IPL with 6617 runs.

RCB’s unwanted record

Virat himself achieved a few milestones. But his team has made an unwanted record. RCB conceded 200+ totals five times, which is the highest by any team in IPL history till now. Before that, KKR and RR conceded 200+ totals for four times in 2018. And PBKS also conceded 200+ totals four times in 2014.

IPL 2023 sees the most 200+ totals

As we are talking about conceding most 200+ totals, IPL 2023 has 35 200+ totals with four games still left. It shows how batsmen have enjoyed this IPL.

MI chased down big targets this year

The 5 times IPL champions have chased down a target of 200 or more four times this season. This is the most by any team in a single season.

Most centuries in this year’s IPL

There are 11 centuries scored till now in IPL 2023. This is the most in a single IPL season. The previous best was last season, in which 8 centuries were scored.

The batters list who scored centuries this year is Virat Kohli (2 centuries), Shubman Gill (2 centuries), V Iyer, Harry Brook, Heinrich Klaasen, Cameron Green, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Prabhsimran Singh. 

RCB openers equaled the record of most runs as a pair

Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis have scored 939 runs in 14 matches as a pair and equaled the record for most runs as a pair. The record is with the popular RCB duo of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, who scored 939 runs as a pair in IPL 2016.

Although, it is the most runs as an opening pair in the IPL history in a single season.

It is raining sixes in IPL 2023

A total of 1066 sixes have been recorded so far in this season. This is the most in a single season of IPL history. The previous best was last year, in which 1062 sixes were recorded.

Yashasvi Jaiswal shines in IPL 2023

The RR opener scored 625 runs this season. It is the most by an uncapped player. The previous best was Shaun Marsh (616 runs) in 2008.

He also achieved the milestone of the fastest fifty in the IPL, in just 13 balls against KKR.

An unwanted record for Jos Buttler

The highest run scorer last year, Jos Buttler becomes the first player to get out on duck 5 times in a single season.

DK has now the most ducks in IPL

Dinesh Karthik has now 17 ducks in the IPL history, which is the most by any player.

Rohit scored the most for MI

The MI captain has completed 5000 runs for MI and becomes only the 2nd player who scores that runs for a single franchise. Virat Kohli also scored 5000+ runs for RCB.

Yuzi surpassed DJ Bravo

The RR leg spinner becomes the highest wicket-taker in IPL history. He took 21 wickets this year and completed 187 wickets in IPL. This is the most by any player, surpassing DJ Bravo.

So these are the few records in the IPL 2023. Let’s see which record will break first. Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *