Incredible Record In The Indian Premier League History Of Ms Dhoni

MS Dhoni has won its 5th title in the 16th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). With this win, he has equaled a record of winning the most IPL titles with Rohit Sharma. The current Indian captain also won 5 titles as a captain of Mumbai Indians. Today, we will talk about the incredible record of MS Dhoni in IPL history.

MS Dhoni has been phenomenal in the Indian Premier League history. Whether it is with the bat, leadership, and the gloves behind the wicket, he has done well in every department for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the IPL.


The main thing people admired in him the most is his calmness under pressure. He handles the pressure situation very well, keeping himself calm in those situations and running the game according to his plans.

While batting as well, when he is at the crease and the game went to the wire, he keeps himself calm and the bowlers feared to bowl to him. He has finished so many close games for the team over the years.

Man Management of MS Dhoni

We also have to give credit to MS Dhoni on his man management. MS Dhoni handled his troops very well, giving them much-needed confidence and getting the best out of them.

If we take the recent example of that, Shivam Dube hasn’t performed well when he is with the other franchises. MS Dhoni used him very well this year, gave him clarity about his role and he played a massive role in CSK’s success.

Even Ajinkya Rahane, when no franchise took the initiative to buy him. MS Dhoni used him at No. 3 and he also played a huge role in IPL 2023. Tushar Deshpande for that matter. All these examples show how he uses his resources very well. Let us now look at his incredible record in the Indian Premier League.

Ten IPL Finals As Captain

MS Dhoni captained CSK for 14 seasons. And 12 times, his team reached the top 4. Out of those, they played a total of 10 finals in the IPL history. It’s the most finals played by a team in IPL history. And all of those happened under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

Five IPL trophies for MS Dhoni And CSK

CSK got over the line 5 times out of those 10 IPL finals. MS Dhoni was the captain all the time when CSK won the IPL trophies.

They won the IPL title in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and now in 2023. Recently, CSK beat the IPL 2022 champions Gujarat Titans (GT) in the final to win their 5th title.

Comebacks of CSK

➧ 2018

CSK got banned for two years (2016-17) because of the franchise’s involvement in spot-fixing and betting. In those two years, MS Dhoni played for a new franchise called Rising Pune Super Giants (RPSG). He was the captain for the 1st year. And Steve Smith captained the side next year where they reached the finals as well.

In 2018, CSK made a comeback and under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, they won their 3rd title.

➧ 2021

In 2020, CSK finished 2nd last (7th position) in the points table. When the 2021 IPL came, no one was expecting them to do well. Some people also call them a dad’s army, but they showed why they are one of the most successful franchises in the Indian Premier League history. They won their 4th title by beating KKR in the finals.

➧ 2023

In 2022 as well, CSK finished 9th in the points table under MS Dhoni. Then comes 2023, and again CSK won the title by beating GT in the finals.

MS Dhoni’s record in IPL:-

In 250 games, he scored 5082 with an average of 38.79 and a strike rate of 135.92. He scored 24 fifties in that period with the highest score of 84 not out, which came against RCB in 2019.

These records are incredible for that who batted late down the order. In the field, he took 142 catches and did 42 stumpings till now.


So these are a few records of MS Dhoni in the IPL history. He has achieved a lot in his IPL as well as international career. Other than this, he also won two Champions League Trophy as well.

The fans would love to see him play for at least one more year. Let’s see if he comes back next year or not. Right now, he is in Mumbai for his knee surgery.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *