CSK vs MI- Head-to-Head IPL Records, Stats & Result

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are rivals in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and the former Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20). It features the two IPL 2023 teams Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians. The matches between the two teams are also known as the “El Clásico of the IPL”.

The two teams have faced off 35 times in the IPL and twice in the CLT20 tournament, the most times any two IPL teams have ever squared off. The Mumbai Indians have won more of these games (21 triumphs), though. 

Out of the 15 IPL seasons, they have combined to win 9 titles, making them the two most successful teams in the league. The first time neither team reached the playoff round was in the IPL 2022 campaign.

In this blog, we will look at the head-to-head IPL records, stats & results of all their IPL encounters leading up to the IPL 2023.

CSK vs MI Head-to-Head Stats Ahead of IPL 2023

Since the Indian Premier League’s inception in 2008, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) have been statistically the two league’s top two teams. These two teams have consistently performed well throughout and their fans would hope for the same performance in IPL 2023.

In addition to the IPL, they also fought hard in the now-defunct Champions League T20 (CLT20). There are 9 IPL titles in total that these two clubs have shared; MI has won 5 times, while CSK has won 4 times.

Suresh Raina of Chennai Super Kings, who has 736 runs against Mumbai Indians in 32 games, leads the two teams in runs scored, with Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Mumbai Indians, coming in second with 693 runs in 28 games. The highest total in games between CSK vs MI is 208 by CSK, and the lowest total is 79 by CSK as well.

In addition, the two teams met each other four times in the IPL finals. Let us have a look at their IPL final meetings & which team came out on top. Meanwhile their fans would be hoping to see CSK vs MI battle in the IPL 2023 finals as well.

The IPL 2010 Finals : Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians

Chennai Super Kings made it to the final for the second time in three years, while Mumbai Indians qualified for the final for the first time in IPL history. Super Kings made it to the 2008 Indian Premier League final. The Rajasthan Royals beat them by three wickets in a nail-biting last-ball match. 

Super Kings took on the tournament favourites Mumbai Indians in the 2010 IPL final at their home field. The Super Kings recovered from 68/3 after 12 overs to 168/5 at the end of their 20 overs because of Suresh Raina’s 57 (35) runs. 

To help the Super Kings win the game by 22 runs and capture their first-ever IPL title, their spin pair of Ravichandran Ashwin and Muralitharan only allowed 41 runs in their 8 overs quota. In doing so, the Super Kings also earned a spot in the South African-hosted 2010 Champions League Twenty20.

The IPL 2013 Finals

The Super Kings scored 192/1 in 20 overs against Mumbai Indians in the first qualifier at Delhi, before dismissing their opponents for 144. Thanks to half-centuries from Hussey (86* off 58 balls) and Raina (82* off 42 balls).

As a result, the fans saw a CSK vs MI IPL final for the fourth time in a row. Where they would face the Mumbai Indians in Kolkata. In the championship game, the Mumbai Indians scored 148/9 in their 20 overs while batting first. 

In response, the Super Kings were once down to 39/6 when skipper Dhoni’s unbeaten half-century brought them very near to the goal. However, Mumbai Indians defeated the opposition by 23 runs to claim the game and the IPL title.

The IPL 2015 Finals

The IPL fans saw the CSK vs MI final in 2015. This was their third meeting in the final. Playing in their third IPL final, Mumbai overcame Chennai by 41 runs to claim their second IPL title. 

Their previous IPL triumph had occurred there in 2013 against the same opposition. Chennai was competing in their third IPL championship game and sixth overall. Rohit Sharma, the captain of Mumbai, was named man of the match after his 50-run innings. With a final attendance of almost 67,000 spectators, the championship was sold out.

The IPL 2019 Finals

For the fourth time, Mumbai Indians were crowned the champions. In a dramatic CSK vs MI final game, Mumbai defeated Chennai Super Kings by one run. After IPL 2019 ended, the Mumbai team—which had won the fourth title—became the league’s most successful squad. Chennai ranked second in terms of the most IPL championships won, behind Mumbai (3). 

At that time, Chennai was the IPL’s triple champion. In the decisive game, which was held at Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Mumbai scored 149 runs. 

Despite Shane Watson’s outstanding 80-ball innings, Chennai’s team could only muster 148 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs as a reply. In his 59-ball innings, Watson hit 8 fours and 4 sixes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *