9 T20 Titles For MS Dhoni As Captain

MS Dhoni is one of the most successful captains in world cricket in all formats. Particularly in white ball cricket, he has achieved a lot as a skipper, winning all the ICC Trophies (T20 WC, ODI WC, and Champions Trophy). He also has won 5 IPL titles, 2 Champions League titles, and 2 Asia Cups as well in his captaincy.

Today, we will particularly talk about his achievements in T20 cricket as captain. T20 is the kind of format where you have to be proactive, and sometimes you have very less time to react to the situation. MS Dhoni handles the pressure well over the years in this format and won 9 T20 titles as captain. This is a very big achievement and so much hard work goes behind it.  

MS Dhoni’s captaincy style

MS Dhoni is very cool and calm on the field. He handles the pressure well, tries to keep things simple, and reacts according to the situation. He backs his instincts and becomes proactive sometimes as well.

MS Dhoni has the ability to get the best out of them and gives the player much-needed confidence for that. The players know his role and know what MS Dhoni is expecting from them. Let us now see MS Dhoni’s T20 title achievement.

9 T20 Titles For MS Dhoni As Captain

(1) ICC T20 World Cup 2007

It started when MS Dhoni was given a leadership role in this young Indian Team in 2007. So many big players backed out from this event and MS Dhoni captained the side in this inaugural tournament in South Africa.

Team India beat Pakistan in the finals by 5 runs. It was a close game and Misbah ul Haq almost did it for Pakistan. But it was not their day.

Last over call from MS Dhoni

In this particular tournament as well, MS Dhoni took a call and gave last over to Joginder Sharma. Although he had the option of Harbhajan Singh as well. But the off-spinner went for a few runs in his last over, and MS thinks Joginder Sharma would be the better option. He bowled the last over and the rest is history. MS Dhoni won his 1st ever title as captain.

(2) Indian Premier League 2010

This is the first time MS Dhoni has won the Indian Premier League (IPL) title. CSK beat their arch-rival MI by 22 runs. Suresh Raina scored 57 in the 1st inning. MS Dhoni himself played a cameo of 22 off 15 balls.

(3) Champions League 2010

In the same year, MS Dhoni won his first-ever Champions League title as well. It’s his 3rd T20 title as captain.

CSK defeated the Warriors by 8 wickets while chasing 129. Murli Vijay played a match-winning knock of 58 off 53 balls in 2nd inning.

(4) Indian Premier League 2011

MS Dhoni has won both ICC World Cup and IPL in the same year. The IPL 2011 title was his 4th T20 title as captain. Chennai Super Kings beat RCB comfortably in the finals by 58 runs. Murli Vijay was the man of the match for his 95 off 52 balls.

(5) Champions League 2014

Between 2011 and 2014, MS Dhoni also won the Champions Trophy in 2013. But his 5th T20 title came in 2014 when CSK defeated KKR in the Champions League 2014 finals.

CSK restricted KKR to 180 in the first inning. Pawan Negi took a 5 wicket haul. CSK chased it down with 8 wickets and 9 balls to spare. Suresh Raina played an outstanding knock of 109 in the finals. MS Dhoni himself remains not out on 23 off 14 balls.

(6) Asia Cup 2016

The Asia Cup of 2016 was played in a T20 format. MS Dhoni already won the 50-over Asia Cup. And with this title, MS Dhoni has all the titles in both white ball formats he played.

It was a 15-over affair in the finals due to rain. Bangladesh managed to put 120 on the board. Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli’s 98 runs stand for the 2nd wicket helps Team India to chase it down with 8 wickets and 7 balls to spare.

(7) Indian Premier League 2018

CSK got banned for 2 years in 2016-17 due to its involvement in spot-fixing and betting. They made a strong comeback and won the title by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad in the finals.

(8) Indian Premier League 2021

In 2020, CSK finished 2nd last in the points table. Then comes 2021, again CSK showed why they are one of the most successful franchises in IPL history. They defeated KKR in the finals by 27 runs.

(9) Indian Premier League 2023

Again the same thing happened. CSK finished 2nd last in IPL 2022 and then made a comeback by winning the title for the 5th time in IPL 2023. They defeated the last-time champion Gujarat Titans (GT) in the finals by 5 wickets in a rain-affected game.


So these are the achievements of MS Dhoni as captain in T20s. Which one is your favorite of these 9 titles? Comment your answer below.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *