CSK IPL 2023 Winner Lifts The Trophy For 5th time, & Equals With MI

The IPL 2023 has come to an end and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) becomes IPL 2023 winner and lifted the trophy for the 5th time in IPL history. They are now equaled with Mumbai Indians (MI) in terms of most titles in the IPL history.

Another trophy in the cabinet for MSD

It’s the MS Dhoni’s man who came out good in the finals as they beat the last-time champions Gujarat Titans (GT) to lift their 5th title. All the titles won by CSK are under the leadership of MS Dhoni. They have won the IPL titles in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and now they are the IPL 2023 winner as well.

Dhoni himself hasn’t contributed much with the bat in the finals, getting out of the first ball. But his wicket-keeping and his leadership helped the team to beat the table toppers GT in the finals. He showed why he is one of the best captains in white ball cricket in the world.

CSK vs GT IPL 2023 Finals

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

After a whole day washed out due to rain, we headed towards reserve day to get the IPL 2023 winner. Fortunately, the game started on time. CSK won the toss and elected to field first. The decision could be influenced due to the weather forecast ahead of the match.

1st inning- Sai Sudharsan stands tall on a big stage

GT started off really well with the bat. Shubman Gill looked in good touch as he was throughout the IPL 2023. He played some eye-pleasing shots in his short stay at the crease. W Saha complimented him very well and GT were 62 for no loss after the first powerplay.

Jadeja got the breakthrough for CSK

Ravindra Jadeja got the breakthrough for CSK in the 7th over. He deceived Shubman Gill and MS Dhoni did the rest of the job behind the stumps. Gill scored 39 off 20 balls with 7 fours. The GT openers added 67 runs for the first wicket.

W Saha – The man of the IPL finals

Saha continues his stay at the crease and Sai Sudharsan took his time to get settled. GT was 96 for 1 after 11 overs. The run flow slowed down for a while before Sai Sudharsan went after M Pathirana in his first over. He hit two back-to-back fours to Pathirana and the over went for 13 runs.

W Saha, in the meanwhile, gets to his half-century in 36 balls with a four through backward point.

Sai Sudharsan toying with the CSK bowlers

After Saha got out, Sai Sudharsan took off and went after every bowler of CSK. He hit two sixes to Theekshana in his last over.

Sai also hit two fours to Pathirana in the 16th over. He reached his half-century in that over as well, in 33 balls. The 21 years old didn’t stop there and hit 20 overs in the next over to Tushar Deshpande.

After hitting two sixes to Pathirana in the first two balls of the last over, he got out lbw. GT finished with a good total of 214. Sai Sudharsan made 96 off 47 balls with 8 fours and 6 sixes.

2nd inning- Rain curtailed the game

After 3 balls, the rain came in and interrupted the game for more than 2 hours. Finally, the game started at 12:10 AM IST. It was now a 15-over game for CSK and the target for them is 171.

CSK openers laid the foundation

The Chennai Super Kings openers also went hard at the GT bowlers in the first four overs. They added 52 runs in 4 overs and the chase was on at that time.

Noor got the breakthrough for GT

Noor Ahmed, the Afghanistani spinner was the pick of the bowlers for GT. He broke the 74-run 1st wicket stand between Gaikwad and Conway. Both the openers got out in a span of 4 balls.

Ajinkya Rahane played a crucial cameo for the team. He hit two sixes to Little in the 8th over.

Shivam Dube was sent in but he was struggling to get going. Mohit Sharma got Rahane in his first over and the situation got tense out there.

Rashid Khan fails to deliver in IPL 2023 finals

One of the best T20 bowlers in the world right now, Rashid Khan went for runs in that game. Dube, who struggled for the most part of the inning, hit two back-to-back sixes to Rashid when CSK needed 50 off 20 balls.

Rayudu came in for the last time in the IPL and he hit two sixes and a four to Mohit in the next over.

Mohit Sharma made a comeback

After those hits from Rayudu, he made a comeback and took two back to back wickets, including Dhoni’s wicket on the very first ball.

The game went to the wire

In the last over, CSK needed 13 and Mohit gave only 3 runs in the first four balls. Then comes Sir Jadeja who hit a six and a four on the last two balls to win Chennai Super Kings their 5th title.

Devon Conway was given MOTM for his outstanding 47-run knock at the top.

Shubman Gill was the orange cap holder with 890 runs. And M Shami took the purple cap with 28 wickets in the tournament.

CSK again showed why they are one of the best teams in IPL history. Last year, they finished 2nd last in the points table and now they are the IPL 2023 winners.

What’s your favorite moment from this season? Comment down below.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *