A Look Back At The Indian Premier League IPL 2023

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) has completed a few months ago with Chennai Super Kings (CSK) winning their 5th-ever title in the league’s history. MS Dhoni, who led CSK in all 14 seasons in the IPL, has now the same number of trophies as captain along with Rohit Sharma. Rohit Sharma also won 5 IPL titles as a captain of Mumbai Indians (MI) in the IPL. Today, we will have a look back at the IPL 2023 points table, award winners, most run scorers and wicket takers, etc. So let’s start.

IPL 2023 Best Moment / Memories

We have seen so many nail-biting finishes and close games in the IPL 2023. The fans have enjoyed all the moments during the tournament. Let’s see a few big moments in IPL 2023.

The Rise of Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill has come a long way in the last 1.5 years or so. He came into Indian Premier League 2023 with so many international runs under his belt. But this year, he stamped his authority in IPL as well. He becomes one of the most valuable players of the team and the team relies on him so much now.

Akash Madhwal’s transition from tennis ball cricket

Who would have thought that the guy who used to play tennis ball cricket not so long ago will shine in the biggest cricket league of the world? He does well for MI in Indian Premier League 2023 and plays an important role in the absence of Jasprit Bumrah and Jofra Archer.

Rinku Singh’s 5 sixes

Rinku Singh won an unbelievable game for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) against Gujarat Titans (GT). He hit 5 sixes in an over when 29 was needed in the final over.

Umesh Yadav took a single off the first ball. And then Rinku goes bang bang against Yash Dayal.

Reserve day for the final

The final of the IPL 2023 happened on the reserve day. It’s the first time in IPL history that the final was played on reserve day. Obviously due to rain.

Naveen ul Haq’s cryptic mango story

We have also seen some heat of the moments during IPL 2023. Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir’s words exchange, Virat and Naveen’s tussle, LSG-RCB rivalry forming, etc were the few moments we saw during the IPL 2023.

Other moments in IPL 2023

Rashid Khan’s hattrick, Sandeep’s no-ball in Jaipur, Avesh smashing his helmet on the last ball, Archer going for minor surgery during the tournament, etc are a few more moments that we saw during IPL 2023. There are a few more as well, but we cannot cover them in one article.

IPL 2023 points table

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings’ comeback

Both teams had a very poor IPL 2022. Having finished in the last two in the points table of IPL 2022, both reach the playoffs in IPL 2023.

Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans are again in the Top 4

Both franchises started their IPL journey in 2022. In both seasons (2022-23), they finish in the top 4 of the points table.

GT even won the title in 2022 and reached the final of IPL 2023 as well.

RCB-RR lost the opportunity

Both, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals lost the opportunity to reach the playoffs this season. They were very close, even when only the last two days were left to complete the league stages.

No playoffs for KKR, PBKS, DC, and SRH

All 4 teams finished in the bottom 4 of the IPL 2023 points table.

MS Dhoni equaled the record with Rohit

MS Dhoni led CSK in 14 seasons and won 5 titles (in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023). He has now equaled the record of winning the most titles as captain in IPL. CSK defeated GT in the final by 5 wickets. They chased down a revised target of 171 in 15 overs.

TRIVIA:- Rohit also won one IPL title as a player with Deccan Chargers in 2009.

So many records broke during IPL 2023

We have seen quite a few records break during IPL 2023. Some of them are:-

  • The most 200+ totals scored this season.
  • MI chased down the most 200+ totals in a single season.
  • Most sixes have been hit during this season.
  • 100s scored in this season are the most in the IPL history till now.
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal scored the fastest fifty in IPL history in 13 balls.

So many other records were broken in IPL 2023. If we continue the list, the article will be so long.

IPL Award winners:-

  • Yashasvi Jaiswal, after his outstanding run in IPL 2023, won the Emerging Player of the Year award.
  • Shubman Gill scored 890 runs in IPL 2023 and won the orange cap.
  • Gill also won the Player of the Series award.
  • After the breakthrough season for GT, Gill also won the most valuable player award.
  • M Shami won the purple cap after he took 28 wickets this season.
  • Rashid Khan won the Catch of the Season award.
  • Although DC had a poor run, they won the Fairplay award this season.


So these are a few things about this season. Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *